Find out what drives your top performers.

The NorthCoast 99 award doesn’t just recognize great places to work. It recognizes great places to work for top- performing people — people that drive results, provide competitive advantages, and allow businesses to innovate and grow. Winners are selected based on how their policies and practices align with criteria that increases the probability that they will more effectively attract and retain top-performing individuals.

Benchmark with other local great workplaces.

Every organization that applies receives a complimentary benchmarking report, summarizing their application responses and how they compare to other NorthCoast 99 organizations. This tool provides a blueprint for possible workplace initiatives and also validates current organizational practices.

Be branded as a great workplace.

Being a NorthCoast 99 winner showcases your organization as a great Northeast Ohio place to work and drives top talent your way. Winners proudly display their badge on marketing collateral and in advertising and recruiting material to promote their organization as a top workplace. In addition, NorthCoast 99 winners are promoted throughout the year by ERC.

Attend the best event of the year.

The annual NorthCoast 99 awards event gathers nearly 1,000 of the region's top business professionals for a night of networking unlike any other in the Cleveland area. In addition to honoring the winners, the annual program features internationally-known keynote speakers and entertainment from some of the most unique acts around!

What do applicants receive?

All applicants will receive:

Customized individual benchmark report prepared for your organization, allowing you to compare your results with those of the other applicants and 99 winners. (Published in the Fall)

The annual NorthCoast 99 Winners Report, a comprehensive summary of best practices, benchmark data, stories, examples, and case studies based on data provided by the NorthCoast 99 Winners. (Published in the Fall)

View the 2018 Winners Report

In addition, NorthCoast 99 winners receive:

Significant branding and promotional support to announce your win, including year-long recognition on our website and recognition in a special NorthCoast 99 supplement to the September issue of Cleveland Magazine.

Hand-delivered custom framed lithograph award.

Optional in-person meeting with our team to review your summary reports.

Two complimentary invitations to the exclusive annual awards event with the option to purchase additional seats.

Receive Application Updates

How are winners selected?

Applicants are evaluated based on responses to questions regarding policies and practices related to the attraction and retention of top performers, and also the responses of employees that complete surveys about their workplace, including a survey that measures the preferences of top performing people.

Applicants are judged on:

  • Organizational Strategy, Policies & Communication
  • Recruitment, Selection & Onboarding
  • Employee Wellbeing
  • Employee Engagement & Development
  • Total Rewards
  • Challenging, Meaningful Work & Professional Development

Each organization that submits a completed application receives an overall score. Overall scores are ranked in order from highest to lowest, and the top 99 organizations are designated as the NorthCoast 99 winners. ERC does not publish a ranked listing of winners.

The NorthCoast 99 application will help you discover what drives top performers and how you can attract and retain them within your organization.

The 2019 award recipients have been determined and notified. We look forward to revealing the names of our winning organizations on September 1!

NorthCoast 99 Winners Report

who is eligible?

To be eligible for the award, your organization must have been in existence for a minimum of 3 years and have at least 15 full-time equivalent employees in Northeast Ohio.

Only employers located in Northeast Ohio are eligible for the award. For the purpose of this award, Northeast Ohio is defined as the 22-county region including:

  • Ashland
  • Ashtabula
  • Carroll
  • Columbiana
  • Crawford
  • Cuyahoga
  • Erie
  • Geauga
  • Harrison
  • Holmes
  • Huron
  • Lake
  • Lorain
  • Mahoning
  • Medina
  • Portage
  • Richland
  • Stark
  • Summit
  • Trumbull
  • Tuscarawas
  • Wayne